When Were Sour Patch Kids Invented? And More Sour Patch Kids FAQs

Aside from popcorn, soda, and the occasional impulse Whoppers purchase, there’s no better treat to munch on while watching a movie than Sour Patch Kids. These gummy candies with that pucker-inducing coating of sour sugar, are just about the only kids I’m glad to share my cinema experience with (regardless of whether or not the film I’m seeing happens to be one aimed at their age group; c’mon, Pixar is for everybody). The one-two punch of sweet and sour make these candies not only unique, but insanely snackable, and you won’t find us judging you for polishing off an industrial sized bag of these bad boys (although, I’ll bet your dentist would have a cross word or two to offer). But how much do you really know about these gummy kids? Let’s tackle the frequently asked questions folks might have regarding Sour Patch Kids. 

When were Sour Patch Kids invented?

Though the recipe and basic structure of the candy has been around since the early 1970s when they were sold under the name “Mars Men,” the actual branding of Sour Patch Kids as we currently know it wasn’t introduced until 1985. The branding most likely changed to capitalize on the extreme popularity of Cabbage Patch Kids dolls. At this point, these kids should technically be called “Sour Patch Elder Millennials,” but that doesn’t necessarily roll off the tongue. 

What are Sour Patch Kids made of?

If you can believe it, Sour Patch Kids are made with a lotttttt of sugar. The Sour Patch Kids ingredients list includes sugar, corn syrup, modified corn starch, tartaric acid, citric acid, and artificial coloring. 

What are the flavors of Sour Patch Kids?

A classic bag of no-frills Sour Patch Kids comes in five frankly delectable flavors. You’ve got Orange, Lemon, Lime, Blue-Raspberry, and Redberry. If we expand our scope and mosey over to the official website, you find that bags of Sour Patch Kids can be customized to suit every eater’s favorite flavors. These bespoke collections can include other flavors like Pineapple, Strawberry, and Grape. Finally, I can get my dream Kids combo: An entire bag of Redberry with one single Pineapple, just to try. 

Are Sour Patch Kids vegan?

Yes, Sour Patch Kids are vegan! Unlike many other gummy candies, there is no gelatin or eggs used to create the soft chewy texture we crave! 

Are Sour Patch Kids gluten free?

To sweeten the deal further (if you’ll allow me to cash in my one pun for the day), Sour Patch Kids are also gluten free. Wow, vegan AND gluten free! What a responsible candy! 

Sour Patch Kids will forever be a candy aisle staple, and will hopefully be pursing lips and tightening taste buds for years to come. Now, if only they made 6 ft tall Sour Patch Full-Grown Adults that you could use to sit in the passenger seat to fool traffic cops while you cruise down the carpool lane!

About the Author

Joe Rumrill

Joe Rumrill is a fictional one-eyed spinach-loving sailor created in 1929 by E.C Se- Wait, no, that's not right... Joe Rumrill is a stand up comedian and writer currently based in Los Angeles. His favorite thing about food is a close tie between the taste and the nutrients one gets from it. His least favorite thing about it is the "gritty, dirt-like quality some food has", but he's most likely referring to the time in third grade he was dared to eat playground sand.

Thoughts? Questions? Complete disagreement? Leave a comment!

Your thoughts.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *